Picture_dl.exe - beware of viruses being spread via Facebook

 

Picture_dl.exe - beware of viruses being spread via Facebook

If you received a notification email from Facebook, notifying you that your friend “SOME FACEBOOK FRIEND” left a new message for you. This seemed to be OK until if you read the message:

“hello ‘USER“, hehe.. you could be tht naughty i didnt know… really hard to see taht from my eyes lol :-)
have a luk urself…
http://www.google.com.id.ewv1g6d2.ij4s0h.2b99df1a.cn/gallery.php?id=dd82hikzt&auth=9490559&cyua=iy2qpfgelm
(click open or run when prompted)”

The contents of the message apeat suspiciously similar to the virus messages. Another look at the URL revealed  that this is not a Google url,

site is:

http://www.google.com.id.ewv1g6d2.ij4s0h.2b99df1a.cn

( CN = China domain )

but a phishing site. If you followed the url, the link goes to a download page of Picture_dl.exe, which is some kind of a virus/worm or spyware.


3 Responses to “Picture_dl.exe - beware of viruses being spread via Facebook”

  1. @Afro,

    I definitely got this virus but I can’t find the splm folder or the ncsjapi32 file anywhere.

  2. delete this file on your computer.
    C:\windows\system32\splm\ncsjapi32.exe
    then search for any instance of picture_dl and delete them too. you are cured.

  3. I was half asleep and did click on the link.
    It showed me some sort of e-card greeting and then the system started to semi-crash.

    Running virus scanners now to clear it.
    Hopefully it works. I’ll keep updated.

Post a Comment



We use third-party advertising companies to serve ads when you visit our website. These companies may use information (not including your name, address, email address, or telephone number) about your visits to this and other websites in order to provide advertisements about goods and services of interest to you.